District Directors

Left to Right: Paul Nehm, Bruce Borelli, Dave Taylor, Michael Mucha, Jeff Brochtrup, Mike Simon

Paul Nehm, Director of Operations and Maintenance. Paul is the District’s Director of Operations and Maintenance and has worked at the District for over 35 years! He is responsible for coordinating the activities of the various sections within the Operations and Maintenance Department. You can contact Paul if you have questions related to pumping station operations or treatment plant processes.

Bruce Borelli, Director of Engineering. Bruce graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and is a licensed Professional Engineer in Wisconsin. He has been at the District for 20 years, progressing from a Project Engineer to his current position as Director of Engineering, where he is responsible for all aspects of the District's Capital Improvement Construction Program. 

Dave Taylor, Director of Ecosystem Services. Dave is the Director of Ecosystem Services for the District. The Ecosystem Services Department includes programs and supporting services with a focus on improving environmental outcomes, which are broadly focused and include beneficial reuse, resource recovery, improved water quality, and cost effective regulatory compliance strategies. Ecosystem Services also focuses on addressing a wide range of regulatory, legislative, and strategic initiatives that impact District operations and/or help establish overall District focus. The Ecosystem Services team includes the laboratory and the pretreatment/waste acceptance programs.

Michael Mucha, Chief Engineer and Director. Michael serves as the Chief Engineer and Director for the Madison Metropolitan Sewerage District. He has dedicated his 25-year career to “Building public trust through sustainability.” Michael has his BS in Civil Engineering from the University of Wisconsin Milwaukee, his Masters in Public Administration from the University of Washington-Seattle, and completed Harvard University’s Senior Executives in State and Local Government program. Michael is the current Chair for ASCE’s Committee on Sustainability and serves locally on the Sustain Dane Board of Directors.

Jeff Brochtrup, Director of Administration.  Jeff is the District’s Director of Administration.  Jeff is involved with the District’s budgeting, rate setting, and Clean Water Fund loans.  He is responsible for overseeing the District’s financial and information technology groups.  Jeff has been with the District since 1982, has a Master of Science Degree in Civil and Environmental Engineering, and is a licensed Professional Engineer.

Mike Simon, Assistant Chief Engineer and Director of Planning. Mike is the District’s Assistant Chief Engineer and Director of Planning.  He is responsible for many of the District’s capital project planning functions including development of the District’s Capital Improvements Plan and Capital Budget.  Mike joined the District in June 1981 and he has a Bachelor’s Degree in Electrical Engineering and a Master’s Degree in Business Administration.