NACWA Awards

NACWA Peak Performance Award

The National Association of Clean Water Agencies (NACWA) has presented Peak Performance Awards to Madison Metropolitan Sewerage District (MMSD) Nine Springs Waste Water Treatment Plant in recognition of its consistent National Pollution Discharge Elimination System permit compliance as follows:

Year Level           Year  Level         Year  Level    Year  Level        Year  Level 
1999 Gold    2000  Gold    2001  Silver    2002  Gold    2003  Silver 
2004  Gold    2005  Silver    2006  Gold    2007  Gold    2008  Gold 
2009  Gold    2011  Platinum    2012  Platinum 6    2013  Platinum 7     

The Peak Performance Awards Program consists of three categories – Platinum, Gold and Silver.  The criteria for each category are as follows:

  • Platinum Awards recognize 100% compliance with permits over a consecutive five-year period. Platinum Awards will be given to facilities with a consistent record of full compliance for a consecutive five year period (Platinum 6 & 7 is for 6 & 7 consecutive years). If 100% compliance is maintained beyond the initial award, Platinum Award status is continued. Should 100% compliance not be maintained, member agency facilities must receive four consecutive Gold Awards to again be eligible for another Platinum Award in their fifth year of compliance.
  • Gold Awards are presented to facilities with no permit violations for the calendar year.
  • Silver Awards are presented to facilities with no more than five violations for the calendar year.

To learn more about the National Association of Clean Water Agencies, visit

Radebaugh Award

The Radebaugh Award is presented each year for the publication of the best paper in that year by a Central States Water Environment Association member.

The award is named for Gus H. Radebaugh as a memorial to his fine, loyal service to Central States. Gus Radebaugh was manager of the Urbana-Champaign Sanitary District, Urbana Illinois. He was the first Secretary of Central States, 1927-30.

The following is a list of Madison Metropolitan Sewerage District Recipients of the Radebaugh Award by year:

Year  Recipient(s) 
2016  Aaron Dose, Alan Grooms, Steve Reusser 
2012  Alan Grooms 
2010  Steve Reusser
2005  Steve Reusser 
2001  Steve Reusser, Greg Zelinka 
1990  Steve Reusser 
1977  Paul Nehm 

Government Finance Officers Association Award

GFOA AwardMembership in the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) is open to everyone whose career, studies or interests involve government financial management. GFOA members form a diverse group of individuals, from entry-level employees to senior managers who work for a broad range of governments, including cities, towns, and other municipalities of all sizes.

The GFOA established the Distinguished Budget Presentation Awards Program (Budget Awards Program) in 1984 to encourage and assist state and local governments to prepare budget documents of the very highest quality that reflect both the guidelines established by the National Advisory Council on State and Local Budgeting and the GFOA’s best practices on budgeting and then to recognize individual governments that succeed in achieving that goal.

Madison Metropolitan Sewerage District (MMSD) has held membership in the GFOA for several years, first attempted to receive this award and succeeded in 2013. MMSD has been awarded the GFOA Distinguished Budget Presentation Award in each of the following years:

2016, 2015, 2014, 2013

Community Awards

June 21, 2016: Yahara Lakes Association Citizen of the Year
The Yahara Lakes Association (YLA) recognized Dave Taylor, Director of Ecosystem Services at MMSD, as the YLA Citizen of the Year for his tremendous work on the Yahara WINS program. At the YLA Annual Dinner event, Dave updated attendees on the Yahara WINS program, which is a collaboration of over 30 municipal partners implementing and managing cost effective phosphorus reduction in the Yahara watershed.

May 3, 2016: 2015 Lumley Leadership Awards Organization of the Year
Lumley Leadership AwardsThe Clean Lakes Alliance awarded the District the 2015 Lumley Leadership Awards Organization of the Year. Dave Lumley, for whom the award is named, has been a long-time lover of the lakes, and one of the first advocates of the Clean Lakes Alliance. He paved the way for strong local business involvement in promoting lake cleanliness, and has been an invaluable supporter of CLA’s efforts. In honor of his support, several Lumley Leadership Awards have been presented to some of the most outstanding community members and organizations in the Yahara Watershed.

2016-2020: Silver Level Bicycle Friendly Business
The League of American Bicyclists has designated Madison Metropolitan Sewerage District as a Bicycle Friendly Business in recognition of our outstanding efforts to support and encourage bicycling.