Commission Business

Subscribe for emails on commission business

Approved Minutes

Meeting Archive

Commission Meeting Archive

Commission Policies

The District is governed by nine Commissioners serving staggered terms: five Commissioners are appointed by the Mayor of the City of Madison, three are appointed by an executive council made up of elected officials from District cities and villages, and one is appointed by an executive council made up of by town-elected officials. The Commissioners meet once or twice each month at the District. Special meetings are held as required upon call of any member of the Commission.

Ken Clark
Reappointed: 2016  Term Ending: 2019  
About Commissioner Clark:           

Commissioner Clark is COO of Total Water Treatment Systems Inc., an employee-owned business, and also serves as a Village of DeForest Trustee. As COO, Ken is responsible for business operations, annual budgeting, strategic planning, acquisitions and financial reporting. Beyond being a trustee, Commissioner Clark has served as a member on the DeForest Redevelopment Authority, DeForest Area Library Committee, Planning and Zoning Committee, and the Parks Recreation and Natural Resources Committee.                                                                                                                   

Sara Eskrich
2015 Term Ending: 2020
About Commissioner Eskrich:
Commissioner Eskrich serves on the Madison Common Council as District 13 Alder, the Board of Estimates, Henry Vilas Zoo Commission, and Bayview Board, and works for Deloitte on their Wisconsin eHealth Team. She received her undergraduate degree and her MA in Public Health and Public Affairs from the UW-Madison. Previously, she worked for Covering Kids & Families of Wisconsin, the UW Population Health Institute, the Wisconsin Council on Children and Families, the Wisconsin Alliance for Women’s Health, and as Policy Director for the Boston, Massachusetts City Council President.                                                                                                                                      
Thomas Hovel, President
 2017 Term Ending: 2020
About Commissioner Hovel:
By occupation, Commissioner Hovel is a city planner, a field which requires system-thinking and to anticipate impacts of human interaction with the environment.  Educationally, he is trained as a geographer, which involves the examination of human interaction with the environment.                                                                                                                

Angela James, Secretary
2015 Term Ending: 2020
About Commissioner James:
Commissioner James is an attorney with Michael Best and Friedrich, a broad-based business law firm. She focuses her practice on assisting businesses with environmental compliance.  Previously, she worked for the Wisconsin Paper Council and Madison Gas and Electric, and she currently serves on the boards of the Wisconsin Environmental Education Foundation and the Joseph P. Mettner Foundation. She received her undergraduate degree in Zoology, her MS in Water Resources Management, and her Law Degree all from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.                                                                                                                      

James Martin
2016 Term Ending: 2019
About Commissioner Martin:   

Commissioner Martin served as an Assistant City Attorney for 25 years and as the City Attorney. He also served for six years as a Dane County Circuit Court Judge. He has been a member of a number of professional boards and is a member of the Safe Harbor of Dane County Board. He earned his Law Degree from UW Madison.                                                                                                                                        

Ezra Meyer, Vice President
2016 Term Ending: 2019
About Commissioner Meyer:
As a Water Resources Specialist, Commissioner Meyer has assisted in the design and implementation of Clean Wisconsin’s statewide water policy program since 2008. Prior to Clean Wisconsin, he served as an educational specialist and on the board of directors for a nonprofit watershed advocacy organization that he helped to co-found.                                                                                                                           
Brad Murphy
2015 Term Ending: 2018
About Commissioner Murphy:   

Commissioner Murphy was the Director of the City of Madison Planning Division from 1989 through 2012. Brad led a 27-person staff and helped develop the city’s comprehensive and Downtown plans, neighborhood plans, the zoning code, and numerous intergovernmental agreements. He has a Bachelors degree in Geography and a Masters in Urban Planning.                                                                                                                                        

Brian Potts
2015 Term Ending: 2018
About Commissioner Potts:            

Commissioner Potts is an environmental and energy law partner at Foley & Lardner LLP and serves as the pro bono General Counsel for the Clean Lakes Alliance.  Brian has a master’s degree in energy law from the University of California, Berkeley, a law degree from Vermont Law School, and a B.S. in Economics from Centre College. 

Thomas Wilson
2016 Term Ending: 2018
About Commissioner Wilson:           

Commissioner Wilson has served as the Attorney/Administrator/Clerk/Treasurer for the Town of Westport in Dane County since 1999. Previously, he was a partner in Wisconsin law firm Stafford Rosenbaum with a practice focus on local government and administrative law. He serves on several local and regional government boards, commissions and committees, including the Executive Committee of MMSD’s Yahara WINs. He received both his BA in Political Science and his JD from the UW-Madison.